Texas Governor Greg Abbott made a huge decision this week to put an end to texting and driving.
The law takes effect September 1st in hopes to reduce potentially deadly driver distractions on the road. The fine for texting and driving will be $99 for first-time offenders and $200 for repeat offenders. The law specifically targets texting, making other internet use such as navigation and music programs acceptable on the road.
In 2016, there were close to 110,000 accidents involving distracted driving. Of those 110,000, more than 450 people died and 3,000 had serious injuries. (Source: Texas Department of Transportation)
Do you think it will be hard to enforce this law in Texas?
Credit: NBC DFW